Workplace Safety

Would you like fire safety training in your workplace? Call our fire department today to book an educator for your business!

Prevention

  • Report blocked exit ways as well as problems with sprinklers, alarms and emergency lighting.
  • Don't pinch extension cords under furniture.
  • Report frayed electrical cords.
  • Carefully store flammable liquids if they are used in your workplace.
  • Give heat generating equipment room to breathe. Don't stack papers on devices such as computer monitors.
  • Unplug coffeemakers and other small appliances before everyone leaves for home.
  • Make sure your exit ways are not blocked by trash, boxes or other potential impediments.

Fire Extinguishers

  • Make sure everyone is out or leaving the building and the Fire Department is on the way before you consider using an extinguisher.
  • Fire extinguishers are only good for fighting small fires.
  • Ensure that you are using the right type of extinguisher for the fire you are trying to put out.
  • To find out more about extinguishers, visit our Fire Extinguisher Page.
  • Ask your employer to provide information on the use of extinguishers.
Municipal Contacts
Chief Administrative Officer (CAO)
Mary Ellen Greb
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 225
Email: cao@swox.org
 
Clerk
Lisa VanderWallen
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 223
Email: clerk@swox.org
 
Treasurer
Diane Larder
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 224
Email: dlarder@swox.org
 
Revenue Officer
Stacy Weicker
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 222
Email: revenueofficer@swox.org
 
Chief Building Official (CBO)
Aaron Stewardson
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 229 
Email: cbo@swox.org
Building Inspector
Jason Brunt
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 233
Email: jbrunt@swox.org
 
Administrative Assistant - Building
Deb Dawson
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 228
Email: building@swox.org
 
Development Planner
Community and Strategic Planning Office,
County of Oxford

Ron Versteegen,
Phone: 519-539-9800 Ext. 3214
Email: rversteegen@oxfordcounty.ca
 
By-Law Enforcement Officer
Jason Brunt
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 233
Email: jbrunt@swox.org
 
Drainage
Jason Brunt
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 233
Email: jbrunt@swox.org
 
Treasurer
Diane Larder
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 224
Email: dlarder@swox.org
 
Revenue Officer
Stacy Weicker
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 222
Email: revenueofficer@swox.org
 
Payroll Administrator
Brooke Crane
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 226
Email: payroll@swox.org
 
Administrative Assistant
Laura Pickersgill
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 221
Email: generaladmin@swox.org
 
Fire Chief & CEMC
Jeff VanRybroeck
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 257
Email: fireChief@swox.org
 
Works Superintendent
Bill Freeman
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 260
Email: bfreeman@swox.org
 
Foreman
Larry Hughes
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 258
Email: lhughes@swox.org
 
Lead Hand
Adam Prouse
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 258
Email: aprouse@swox.org
 
Chief Administrative Officer
Mary Ellen Greb
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 225
Email: cao@swox.org
 
Clerk
Lisa VanderWallen
Phone: 519-485-0477 Ext. 223
Email: clerk@swox.org
 
Copyright © 2016 SWOX, All rights reserved.