News Detail

Ontario Government Invites Feedback on Regional Government Review

3/19/2019 9:49:53 AM

Help inform the Provincial Government's review of eight regional municipalities and Simcoe County, and their lower-tiers. This includes Oxford County and all of the lower tiers (Tillsonburg, Woodstock, Ingersoll, Blandford-Blenheim, Norwich, South-West Oxford, East-Zorra Tavistock and Zorra).

Ontario is launching online consultation for the regional government review of eight regional municipalities and Simcoe County, and their lower-tiers. In total, 82 municipalities are included in the review.

We invite you to share your thoughts on the municipalities where you live, work or spend time. We want to hear your views on the way your municipal elected representatives make their decisions and represent your community. We also want your thoughts and observations on the efficiency, effectiveness and cost of the various municipal services that your municipalities provide.

The objective of this review is to ensure that these municipalities are providing the vital services that residents and local businesses depend on.

The deadline for providing comments is April 23, 2019.

Have your say

Local Government Policy Branch

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Local Government Policy Branch

777 Bay Street, 13th Floor

Toronto, ON M5G 2E5

Submission guidelines

  • Consider the following themes in preparing your feedback:
    • improving representation and decision-making (for example, council size, selection process and municipal structure)
    • improving the quality of municipal services and reducing costs (for example, land-use planning, public infrastructure, economic development and social services)
    • where you see municipal governments in 10 years
  • Limit your submission to 500 words or less
  • If you must go over 500 words, provide an executive summary and highlight your recommendations

Thank you for your participation.

Your privacy matters: Ontario is committed to respecting your privacy and protecting your personal information. For more information on protecting your personal information, please visit our privacy statement.

Municipal Contacts

Township of South-West Oxford

Located in South Western Ontario, in the South West section of Oxford County and serves as a regional centre for industry, commerce and recreation.

The Township oversees 87,588 acres with a population of 7,544 and we have Canada’s busiest highway in our front yard! With a rich agricultural heritage, please stop by and enjoy our diverse Township. 

The Township’s mission is be "a leader in the development and delivery of municipal services for the growth and well being of our community"

Contact Us

312915 Dereham Line
Mt. Elgin, On N0J 1N0
Hours: Monday – Friday 
8:30 am to 4:30 pm
Phone: 519-877-2702 / 519-485-0477
Fax: 519-485-2932

Copyright © 2019 SWOX, All rights reserved